(ASHEVILLE, N.C.) – The Appalachian Athletic Conference (AAC) announced the women’s golf postseason awards on Tuesday and nine members of the Truett McConnell University team were listed.
Despite the Lady Bears’ season coming to an early close due to COVID-19, TMU finished third of 14 teams in the AAC fall championship shooting a 662 as a team, which was only one stroke away from runner-up Milligan College, who was ranked No. 16 at the time. TMU’s efforts led to receiving votes in the NAIA national top 25 poll for the first time in program history.
Teagan Lovingood, the team’s lone senior, was named to the Champions of Character and All-Academic team. Eight more Lady Bears earned a spot on the All-Academic team; Kiley BlackburnCarly Leah CokerMegan EdwardsTeagan HendrixHannah JordanFaith ReddickAva Rokosz and Bailey Whitener.
In order to qualify for the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must carry a cumulative grade-point average of at least 3.25 and be a sophomore, junior, senior, or graduate student.