Habersham EMC’s Gail Welborn presents David Little of Sautee with $1,000 cash.

(Mt.Airy)- More than 800 members and guests attended Habersham EMC’s 83rd Annual Meeting  Thursday at the Habersham Ninth Grade Academy.

Attendees enjoyed a barbecue meal, health fair, informational booths, and entertainment by the gospel group Brian Free & Assurance.

HEMC President and CEO Bryan Ferguson in his address to the group focused on the cooperative’s Top 5 Keys to Success; Safety, customer service, enterprise initiatives, people, and teamwork. According to Ferguson, these organizational foundations will shape the future of the cooperative.

He also announced a proactive approach to avoid outages and increase reliability through the use of technology. In addition, Ferguson expressed a renewed commitment to community involvement.

HEMC members elected Jeff Herrin, Kenneth McEntire, and David Foster to the Board of Directors.

Ronald Parham of Cornelia was the winner of the $300 grand prize from those who voted absentee and David Little of Sautee won the other grand prize of $1,000 from those who voted at the meeting.