Employee of the Year Darin Boozer and NGTC President John Wilkinson

Employee of the Year Darin Boozer and NGTC President John Wilkinson

Clarkesville – North Georgia Technical College recently named Darin Boozer of Clarkesville, Ga., the 2022 Employee of the Year at the college’s annual service awards holiday banquet.  

Boozer, the shipping and receiving technician, has been employed by the college since 2018. Boozer was nominated by fellow staff members and was complimented on his positive attitude and willingness to always go above and beyond.  

“I am truly humbled and honored to have been selected for this award, and I really enjoy serving the staff, faculty, and students at NGTC,” said Boozer. “I am part of a great team in Administrative Services who all work closely together to keep things running as smoothly and efficiently as possible. These last couple of years have been very challenging, as it has for most, but our team has pulled together just like a family to keep things going.”  

“Darin has been a tremendous asset to North Georgia Technical College in the time he has been employed,” said Dr. Michele Shirley, Executive Vice President of Administrative Services. “He has not only completely revamped and reorganized his own position but has taken on new tasks with complete willingness. His friendly and always smiling personality has endeared him to the whole college community, and his willingness to step in anywhere he can to be a part of the team has made him stand out as Employee of the Year. It is an honor and privilege to work with Darin every day.”  

Boozer lives in Clarkesville with his wife Laurie, who also works for NGTC, and enjoys car shows, hiking in the mountains, working in his shop, and spending time with family. 

NGTC President John Wilkinson also presented the 2022 Employee Service Awards, recognizing those who have given distinguished years of service to NGTC and the Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG).  

Five-year service employees included Fredrick Brewer of Clarkesville, Ga.; Bethany Elrod of Toccoa, Ga.; Julie Graves of Martin, Ga.; Logan Ivester of Clarkesville, Ga.; Angie Minish of Maysville, Ga.; Stacie Perry of Mount Airy, Ga.; Brandon Provitera of Toccoa, Ga.; Christine Ta of Clarkesville, Ga.; and Neil Youngblood of Mount Airy, Ga.  

2022 Employee Service Awards (left to right): Dr. Fran Chastain; Sherry Seal; Angie Minish; Julie Graves; Dustin Emhart; Christine Ta; Savonda Turner; Tiffany Scroggs; Christy Bivins; Shannon Gary; Michelle Likins; Dr. Kallan Williams; and Kelly Jones. Not pictured are Fredrick Brewer; Bethany Elrod; Logan Ivester; Stacie Perry; Brandon Provitera; Neil Youngblood; Tracey Calvin; Vickie Brown; Dr. Martha Marquardt; and Christy Gosnell.

Ten-year service award recipients were Tracey Calvin of Carnesville, Ga.; Dustin Emhart of Clayton, Ga.; and Dr. Kallan Williams of Demorest, Ga.  

15-year certificates were awarded to Christy Bivins of Toccoa, Ga.; Vickie Brown of Clarkesville, Ga.; Shannon Gary of Cornelia, Ga.; Michelle Likins of Toccoa, Ga.; and Dr. Martha Marquardt of Blue Ridge, Ga.  

20-year service award recipients were Dr. Fran Chastain of Alto, Ga.; Christy Gosnell of Clarkesville, Ga.; Kelly Jones of Demorest, Ga.; Tiffany Scroggs of Demorest, Ga.; and Sherry Seal of Toccoa, Ga.  

Savonda Turner of Toccoa, Ga. was recognized for 20 years with NGTC. 

“I am very proud of these individuals and commend them each for their outstanding achievement,” said NGTC President John Wilkinson. “It is an honor to work with them and to witness the tremendous efforts they put forth each day for our students and the college.”