WARREN, Ohio – The 2023 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championship field of 20 teams and eight individual student-athletes has been set as the No. 5 University of North Georgia men’s golf team prepares to make its second consecutive appearance on the top stage of college golf. The championships will be held May 22-26 at Avalon Lakes in Warren, Ohio, hosted by the Mountain East Conference and Avalon Lakes at The Grand Resort.

The Nighthawks finished fourth at the South/Southeast Regional, considered one of the toughest regionals in the nation, as all six advancing teams were ranked in the top eight nationally, with multiple nationally ranked teams failing to advance out of the regional.

“It is always exciting to be at the National Championship, expecially when you know you have an experienced and prepared group of guys,” stated North Georgia head men’s coach Bryson Worley. “We are looking forward to competing at the highest stage this week.”

It is the second time that the program has reached the National Championships first reaching last season, finishing in 11th out of 20 teams. UNG will look to improve on that mark this time, finishing in the top four of each event they have played in this year.

After three days of competition, only eight teams will remain in the Division II men’s golf championship field. The top eight finishing teams in the field of 20 will move on to medal match play as those teams face off head to head to decide who will be the 2023 National Champion. In medal match play, each match is scored by the cumulative number of strokes won rather than the number of holes won. The player up by the most strokes after 18 holes wins the match.

Will Chambless (GolfStat No. 60), Stephen Kinsel (GolfStat No. 63), Hughes Threlkeld (GolfStat No. 119), Evan Thompson (GolfStat No. 10) and Noah Zediker (GolfStat No. 17) will represent the Nighthawks. North Georgia will tee from 7:30 to 8:14 a.m. on Monday, May 22, and is paired with No. 47 Washburn and No. 9 Oklahoma Christian.

The teams and individuals that advanced for the 2023 championships are listed below:


1. Davis & Elkins
2. Fayetteville State
3. Indiana (Pennsylvania)

1. Donte Groppuso, St. Thomas Aquinas
2. Tyler Birdd, Le Moyne


1. Grand Valley State
2. Missouri S&T
3. Maryville
4. Washburn
5. Harding
6. Southern Arkansas

1. Ethan Wilkins, Henderson State
2. Donnie Professori, Findlay


1. West Florida
2. Barry
3. Nova Southeastern
4. North Georgia
5. Lee
6. Georgia Southwestern

1. Andrew Riley, Palm Beach Atlantic
2. Jose Ramirez, Lynn


1. Sonoma State
2. Western Washington
3. Chico State
4. Oklahoma Christian
5. Simon Fraser

1. Mauricio Figueroa, Texas A&M International
2. Liam Duncan, Colorado State University Pueblo